Sailing Instructions: Zenith Harbor Race, February 28, 2015

Corinthian Yacht Club of Tacoma
Harbor Series #3


1.1 Rules: The race will be governed by the rules as defined in The Racing Rules of Sailing.

1.2 Eligibility: Yachts must meet or exceed PIYA category III safety requirements. Yachts racing in PHRF must be paid members of PHRF-NW and be on file with PHRF-NW. Windseeker class boats must be a minimum of 18 feet LOA (Length Over All).

1.3 Individual Recall Windseeker: Windseeker class boats (NFS) individual recalls will not be called. If On Course Side (OCS) the yacht will be considered racing and two points will be added to the score of that race. This changes RRS 29.1. Furthermore you have no grounds for redress: This changes RRS 62.1 (a).

1.4 Individual Recall PHRF: Individual recalls for PHRF class boats, the race committee may attempt to hail by name(s) and or sail number(s) of those PHRF class boats recalled. Failure to do so, the timing of the hails, the order of the hail, the failure to hear the hails or any other issue associated with the hails, will not constitute grounds for redress: This changes RRS 62.1(a).



2.1 First Warning:

First Warning for PHRF class yachts 0955

First Warning for Windseeker class yachts 1000

2.2 Class Flags

PHRF #1 Pennant

Windseeker Windseeker Burgee



4.1 Start Line: Start line is between a temporary Orange mark and the orange flag on the race committee boat anchored in the vicinity of the Browns Point Lighthouse.



5.1 Course: After starting proceed in an Easterly direction towards Zenith

Then leave Three Tree Point Yacht Club’s I-Mark, approximately 1 NM South of the Des Moines fishing pier at 47 degrees 23.149 minutes N (47.385817), and 122 degrees 19.993 minutes W (-122.333217) in 105 feet of water TO PORT

Then finish off the entrance to the Thea Foss Waterway

Race can be called short at TTPYC “I” mark.

See chartlet below.



6.1 Finish Line: The finish line is between the Dolphin at the entrance to the Thea Foss Waterway and the orange flag on the Race Committee boat anchored or tied on the West side of the Thea Foss


7.1 Time Limit: Seven hours (7) to the finish line (Thea Foss)



8.1 Scoring PHRF: Scoring for PHRF boats will be time-on-distance. 16.4 NM will be used as the full course distance

8.2 Scoring Windseekers: Windseekers will be scored as they stand “boat-for-boat” in their brackets. Furthermore, they may be Horned-On-Course (HOC) as they stand at the discretion of the race committee with no grounds for redress: This changes RRS rule 62.1(a)

8.3 Series Scoring: For the Harbor series scoring there will be no exclusions for the series standings: This changes RRS rule A2

8.4 Did-not-finish: A yacht that did not finish (DNF) will be scored the number of finishers in that race, plus one (1): This changes RRS rule A2

8.5 Series tie breakers: Tie breakers for a series tie(s) will be broken by the last race. If still tied the next to last race will be the tie breaker, or on to the next last race until all ties are eliminated: this changes RRS A8.1, A8.2